Clear Poll Responses or Social Q&A Questions

There are a couple of ways to clear (erase) Poll Responses and/or Social Q&A submissions.

As you create poll questions, it is often helpful to test your poll questions and submit sample responses. After doing so, it's important to clear out your sample responses. There are two methods to do so. Method A will clear out responses to a single poll question. Method B will clear out all responses to all poll questions in a session.

Method A - Clear Responses for a Single Poll

Method B - Clear All Poll Responses or Social Q&A

Please Note: We are unable to restore any data that is permanently deleted. Please use caution when deleting data from the site, and archive or hide wherever possible: Archive and Restore Event Sessions.

 

Method A - Clear Responses for a Single Poll

To remove responses from a poll question, do the following:

  1. Starting from the home page of your app; choose your session. 
  2. Click Sign in to Moderate 
  3. Click on a poll question. 
  4. After clicking a poll question, you'll arrive at a page that shows current results, along with buttons to Clear All Responses and Edit This Poll.

Poll- Clear Responses - Single Question.png

If you're 100% sure you don't want to see these results again, click Clear Responses Now

Poll- Clear Result Single Poll - Confirm.png

Note: After you clear responses, the page will indicate that it is Waiting for Responses (as there are no longer any responses to show). You can safely go back to the previous page or the home page of the app.

 

Method B - Clear All Poll Responses or Social Q&A in a Single Session

To clear all poll responses from all of the poll questions under a particular session, do the following.

  1. Starting from the home page of your app; choose your session. 
  2. Click Sign in to Moderate 
  3. Click Session Settings
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the session management page, and click the button for Delete Content or Clear Responses in Bulk. Please note that the panel will expand. Data is not removed until you confirm.

Poll- Clear All response for a session.png

  • On the screen that appears next (sample below), you can choose from the following options:
    • Poll Responses. With this option, poll responses for all polls within this session are cleared. The poll questions remain intact.
    • Social Q&A. With this option, all entries under the Social Q&A heading are removed.
    • Polls (in their entirety). With this option, poll questions and poll responses are removed. Only choose this if you want to create new poll questions.
    • Session Evaluation Responses. With this option, all session evaluation responses will be cleared for this session. Poll responses and Q&A entries are not affected.
    • Authorized Users. This option is only applicable when session passwords are used. With this option, users who have selected the session will be cleared, and they must re-enter the session.

Polls Confirm Clear for Full session.png

  • After making a choice above, a final confirmation page will appear for you to click to remove data based on your selection.
  • You can return to the screen above to choose another option, if desired.

Note: The most common choice is the option for "Poll Responses", especially if you are ensuring that all test poll responses are removed before your session's official start.

 

If you want to remove all sessions, which includes all polls and all Q&A entries (something that you might want to do before a new conference), visit our article entitled Delete Sessions.